- 1. Meeting called to order at 12:17pm by President Stuntz. Members present included: Ambrose, Bigham, Browning, Byrd, Chenoweth, Commissiong, Dursun-Kilic, Friske, Issa, Lee, Parr-Scanlin, Rosa, Stuntz, Trela, and Wilson. Substitutes: Michael Brown for DeOtte. New Members: Bartlett, Holliday, and Vizzini. Members absent: Castillo, Crafton, Davis, and Parker.
- 2. New senators, all of whom will rotate off in 2013, are Michelle Bartlett from SES, Chad Holliday from Art, Theatre and Dance; and Bryan Vizzini from History and Geography.
- 3. Following a motion by Rosa and a second by Friske the Minutes from April 23, 2010 were approved as submitted.
- 4. Confirmation of University Standing Committee appointments by college
 - a. ASE meeting not held until 1:30 Browning moved and Dursun-Kilic seconded that college nominees be approved. Motion passed. College nominated individuals are:

Curriculum Committee – Clay Robinson

Freshman Convocation – Kevin Williams

Intercollegiate Athletic Committee – Amanda Love

Student Honors Committee – Kenneth Leitch

- b. BUS Commissiong moved and Parr-Scanlon seconded that the college nominations be approved. Motion passed. College appointment is: Student Endowment Scholarship Committee Huabing (Barbara) Wang
- c. ESS has not met.
- d. FAH Commissiong moved and Rosa seconded that all College nominees be appointed, motion approved. Appointments are:

Faculty Emeritus Committee – Trudy Hanson

Information Technology Committee – Shawn Irish

Student Endowment Scholarship Committee - Chad Holliday

Student Honors Committee – Leslie Meek

University Services Committee – Randy Ray.

- e. NHS has not met, date of nominations uncertain.
- 5. Election of non-college appointed positions on University Standing Committees
 - a. Alcohol and Other Drugs: Jeffery Babb from CIDM. Browning moved and Trela seconded that nominations cease, Babb elected by acclamation.
 - b. Developmental Education: Julie Gaasch was nominated. Rosa moved and Byrd seconded that nominations cease, Gaasch was elected by acclamation.
 - c. Enrollment Management Committee; Pradeep Racherla and Chris Furner nominated. Rosa moved and Browning seconded that nominations cease. Racherla was elected.

- d. Faculty Handbook Committee replacing Duane Rosa. Rojan Alex and Pat Tyrer nominated. Browning moved and Parr-Scanlin seconded that nominations cease. Tyrer was elected.
- e. IRB replacing Helen Reyes: Mark Scala, Deborah Davenport, Andrew Li were nominated. Branson moved and Friske seconded that nominations cease. Deborah Davenport was elected.
- f. Scholarship and Financial Aid Committee replacing Bonnie Pendleton. Ken Leitch and Chris Furner nominated. Browning moved and Trela seconded that nominations cease. Chris Furner was elected.
- g. Student Fee Advisory Committee. John Landin, Karyn Friske and John Pipkin nominated. Rosa moved and Wilson seconded that nominations cease. Karyn Friske elected.
- h. Traffic Appeals Committee replacing Karyn Friske. Ken Leitch and Ken Denton nominated. Browning moved and Wilson seconded that nominations cease. Ken Leitch elected.
- i. Undergraduate Admissions Appeal Committee. Nominees were Andrew Li and Matt Kuennnen. Andrew Li was elected.
- j. Virgil Henson Activities Center committee replacing John Lubker. Howard Wilson, Maxine DeButte-Smith, and Matt Kuennen were nominated. Rosa moved and Branson seconded that nominations cease. Howard Wilson elected.
- k. Diversity Committee: nominees were Anthony Spencer, Emily Hunt, Helen Reyes, and Turkan Dursun-Kilic. Commissiong moved and DeOtte seconded that nominations cease. Turkan Dursun-Kilic was elected.
- 6. Elections of Magister Optimus the results must be kept secret until Fall Convocation
 - a. Nominated individuals were: Neal Latman (LEES), Leigh Browning (COMM), Steve Severn (EPML), Susan Nix (ED), Bruce Brasington (H&G), Anne Macy (AEF), Lance Keith (AG), Tim Atchison (PSSW), Susan Martin Tariq (MUSIC), Harry Hueston (PSCJ), and Leslie Meek (ATD). Glowing testimonials were given for each of these terrific faculty members.
 - b. The winning individual will be announced at the Fall Convocation.
- 7. Election of senate officers for 2010-2011
 - a. President Gary Byrd
 - b. Vice-President Leigh Browning
 - c. Secretary Linda Chenoweth
- 8. Remarks from the incoming president, vice president, and secretary
 - a. Byrd: thanks, and hopefully the outline of next year's activities was helpful. Priorities need to come from the Senators.
 - b. Browning we'll be in good hands, and special thanks to both Gary and Bob for running. Thanks to Jean Stuntz for being a great leader.
 - c. Chenoweth thank you.
- 9. Remarks from the outgoing president
 - a. Thanks to everyone who served. It's been a really great year.

10. Following a motion by Rosa, meeting was adjourned at 1:17pm

These minutes have been approved.

Respectfully submitted, Linda Chenoweth, secretary.